Department of Chemical and Process Engineering  ¦ Engler-Bunte-Institute ¦ Deutsch ¦ Impressum ¦ Data Protection ¦ KIT
Gasphase
Equilibrium calculator

Please try out our program for calculating the gas phase equilibrium state.
more...

Contact

Engler-Bunte-Ring 7
76131 Karlsruhe 

Building number 40.13.I 

Tel: +49(0)721 608-42571
Fax: +49(0)721 608-47770

E-Mail: Secretariat

Bachelor- and Masterthesis

Current proposals for topics of bachelor- and master thesis you find on the following page.
more ...

MCS 10 - talk

Bockhorn, H.: "Some notes on challenges of combustion in future energy systems".
more ...

 

History

of Combustion Technology at the Engler-Bunte-Institut

 



Technical Chemistry is, of course, of great importance in teaching and research at the oldest technical university in Germany. Since 1851, lectures on "Chemical Technology" by Karl Seubert and later Karl Birnbaum have been offered since the establishment of the "Chemisch-Technischen Schule". One of the consequences of this orientation was, among other things, the setting up of the "Technisch- Chemischen Laboratorium" in 1872 under Karl Birnbaum with its own institute building, which was completed a few years later by Carl Engler at the current so-called "Ehrenhof" of the university. In 1887, Hans Bunte, from Munich, became holder of the Chair for Chemical Engineering. His vocation was inspired by a suggestion of Carl Engler, with whom he remained friendly for a lifetime. The picture shows how the friendship of these two men, whose name the Engler-Bunte-Institut comprises, was depicted in a contemporary style. Among others, relevant analytical problems have been investigated in the Chemisch-Technische Institut at the university, and even the "Gas Courses", which often are thought of being a child of the "Versuchsgasastalt", had already seen the light of the world in 1898. Technical chemistry and other application-related chemical subjects were always involved in the further development of the diversity of chemistry at the University of Karlsruhe, and in 1950 the Department of Chemistry presented a broad spectrum of applied disciplines in the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Humanities the Chairs for Gas Technology and Fuel Utilization, Technical Gas Utilization and Industrial Furnace Construction, the Institute for Mineral Oil and Coal Research. In addition, the "Gasinstitut", which had already been founded by the Association of Gas and Water Utilities, the German Association of Gas and Water Experts (DVGW), was founded by Carl Engler in 1907. When the Faculty of Chemistry was newly founded in 1969, these applied fields were integrated into the then newly established Faculty of Chemical Engineering.

Today, the "Chair of Combustion Technology" is part of the Engler-Bunte-Institute and has its name only since the appointment of Prof. Bockhorn in 1998. The history of the "Engler-Bunte-Institut" began at the 43rd Annual Meeting of the DVGW In Zurich in 1903. There, Mr. Wunder appeared in a lecture with clearly motivated suggestions: "It seems to me to be a matter of concern for all gas stations, and therefore for the subject at all, to gain a complete clarity on the economic value of the gas coal of the various districts, ... ". The board decided to start the foundation of the association gas station, which was completed with the support of the city of Karlsruhe and the "Großherzoglich Baden" government, was in 1907 inaugurated. Probably the best known teaching activity of the experimental gas station was the so-called "Gas Courses" and "Water Courses", which were held regularly for more than 50 years.

Both the name of the institute and the name of the chair have undergone a number of changes in history: the institute's name "Lehr- und Versuchsgasanstalt" (1907-1919) clearly indicated what was to be done at the time. The name "Gasinstitut" (from 1919 to 1959) contained the science-oriented and universal task for the entire gas compartment. The name "Institute for Gas Technology, Combustion Technology and Water Chemistry" (1959 to 1971) came into being, first because the field of water technology was not represented in the previous name and secondly for a very important reason. This name was used to establish the principle of equality between the working areas and the chairs of the Institute. Previously, the chair of "Chemistry and Technology of Gas, Petroleum and Coal" faced a certain leadership requirement. In the course of the negotiations between Professor Pichler (gas, oil and coal), the Ministry of Culture had stated that he was within the institute "Primus inter pares".
 
With the current institute's name ("Engler-Bunte-Institut", starting in October 1971), it was decided not to express any particular subject areas and possible future changes. The institute bears the names of two outstanding technologists who have carried out fundamental scientific work in the fields in which the institute is active.
 
The name of today's "Chair for Combustion Technology" was still called Prof. "Chair for Technical Gas Use" under Prof. Körting and was later renamed "Lehrstuhl für Feuerungstechnik".

Prof. Dr. D. Trimis holds the chair of combustion engineering at the Engler-Bunte-Institut in the Faculty of Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering since 2013. It stands for the development of results from fundamental oriented research and its implementation into the direction of technical application.

Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik ¦ Engler-Bunte-Institut ¦ English ¦ Impressum ¦ KIT
Chemischer
Gleichgewichtsrechner

Probieren Sie auf dieser Seite unser Programm für die Berechnung des thermodynamischen Gleichgewichtes einer Gasmischung
mehr ...

Kontakt

Engler-Bunte-Ring 7
76131 Karlsruhe 

Gebäude 40.13.I 

Tel: +49(0)721 608-42571
Fax: +49(0)721 608-47770

E-Mail: Sekretariat
Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten

Aktuelle Angebote für das Anfertigen von Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten finden sie auf der folgenden Seite.
mehr ...

MCS 10 - Vortrag

Bockhorn, H.: "Some notes on challenges of combustion in future energy systems".
mehr ...

 

Historie

des Bereich Verbrennungstechnik am Engler-Bunte-Institut

 


Die Technische Chemie hat naturgemäß an der ältesten Technischen Hochschule in Deutschland in Lehre und Forschung großen Stellenwert: Seit Einrichtung der "Chemisch- Technischen Schule" im Jahr 1851 wurden Vorlesungen über "Chemische Technologie" von Karl Seubert und später Karl Birnbaum angeboten. Eine Konsequenz dieser Ausrichtung war unter anderem die Einrichtung des Technisch- Chemischen Laboratoriums 1872 unter Karl Birnbaum mit einem eigenen Institutsgebäude, das wenig später - durch Carl Engler vorangetrieben - 1882 am jetzigen Ehrenhof der Universität fertig gestellt wurde. Im Jahre 1887 wurde Hans Bunte, von München kommend, Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Chemische Technik. Seine Berufung ging auf eine Anregung von Carl Engler zurück, mit dem er ein Leben lang freundschaftlich verbunden blieb. In dem Bild wird gezeigt, wie die Freundschaft dieser beiden Männer, deren Namen heute das Engler-Bunte-Institut trägt, im Zeitgeschmack dargestellt wurde. Es wurden u.a. einschlägige analytische Probleme im Chemisch-Technischen Institut der Hochschule bearbeitet, und selbst die Gaskurse, von denen wir immer meinen, sie seien ein Kind der Versuchsgasanstalt, hatten schon 1898 das Licht der Welt erblickt. Die Technische Chemie und andere anwendungsbezogene chemische Fächer waren in die weitere Entwicklung der Vielfalt der Chemie an der Universität Karlsruhe stets eingebunden, und 1950 präsentierte die Abteilung Chemie in der damaligen Fakultät für Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften neben den Grundlagenfächern auch ein breites Spektrum angewandter Disziplinen wie die Lehrstühle für Gastechnik und Brennstoffverwertung, Technische Gasverwertung und Industrieofenbau, das Institut für Mineralöl- und Kohleforschung. Darüber hinaus existierte das Gasinstitut, das schon 1907 von der Fachvereinigung der Gas- und Wasserversorgungsunternehmen, dem Deutschen Verein der Gas- und Wasserfachleute (DVGW) - auf Betreiben von Carl Engler gegründet worden war. Bei der Neugründung der Fakultät für Chemie 1969 gliederten sich diese angewandten Fachgebiete in die damals neu eingerichtete Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen ein.

Der heutige "Lehrstuhl für Verbrennungstechnik" ist Teil des Engler-Bunte-Instituts und hat seinen Namen erst seit der Berufung von Prof. Bockhorn im Jahre 1998. Die Geschichte des heutigen "Engler-Bunte-Instituts" begann auf der 43. Jahresversammlung des DVGW in Zürich 1903. Dort trat Herr Wunder in einem Vortrag mit klar begründeten Anregungen auf: "Es scheint mir für sämtliche Gasanstalten und deshalb für das Fach überhaupt, von Belang zu sein, über den wirtschaftlichen Wert der Gaskohle der verschiedenen Reviere vollkommene Klarheit zu gewinnen, ...". Der Vorstand beschloss daraufhin die Gründung der Vereinsgasanstalt, die mit Unterstützung der Stadt Karlsruhe, und der großherzoglich badischen Regierung fertiggestellt wurde 1907 eingeweiht werden konnte. Die wohl bekannteste Lehrtätigkeit der Versuchsgasanstalt war die Durchführung der sog. "Gaskurse" und "Wasserkurse", die über 50 Jahre lang regelmäßig abgehalten wurden.

Sowohl der Institutsname als auch der Name des Lehrstuhls machte in der Geschichte einige Wandlungen durch: Der Institutsname "Lehr- und Versuchsgasanstalt" (1907 bis 1919) bezeichnete ganz präzis, was damals gemacht werden sollte. Der Name "Gasinstitut" (von 1919 bis 1959) beinhaltete die wissenschaftsorientierte und universelle Aufgabenstellung für das gesamte Gasfach. Der Name "Institut für Gastechnik, Feuerungstechnik und Wasserchemie" (1959 bis 1971) kam zustande, erstens weil sich das Wasserfach im bisherigen Namen nicht repräsentiert fand und zweitens aus einem institutsgeschichtlich sehr wichtigen Grund. Mit diesem Namen wurde nämlich die prinzipielle Gleichrangigkeit der Arbeitsgebiete und der Lehrstühle im Insitut festgestellt. Vorher war dem heutigen Lehrstuhl für "Chemie und Technik von Gas, Erdöl und Kohle" ein gewisser Führungsanspruch zugekommen. Noch in der Berufungsverhandlung von Prof. Pichler (Gas, Erdöl und Kohle) hatte das Kultusministerium festgestellt, daß er innerhalb des Instituts "Primus inter pares" sei.

Mit dem jetzigen Institutsname ("Engler-Bunte-Institut", ab Oktober 1971) verzichtete man darauf, einzelne Fachgebiete und mögliche künftige Veränderungen zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Das Institut trägt die Namen von zwei hervorragenden Technologen, die zu ihrer Zeit grundlegende wissenschaftliche Arbeit auf den Gebieten geleistet haben, auf denen das Institut tätig ist.

Der Name des heutigen "Lehrstuhls für Verbrennungstechnik" war noch unter Prof. Körting als "Lehrstuhl für Technische Gasverwendung" benannt und wurde später in "Lehrstuhl für Feuerungstechnik" umbenannt

Prof. Dr. D. Trimis hat seit 2013 den Lehrstuhl für Verbrennungstechnik im Engler-Bunte-Institut in der Fakultät für Chemie- Ingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik inne. Er steht für die Erarbeitung von Ergebnissen grunglagenorientierter Forschung und deren Umsetzung in Richtung technischer Anwendung.