Department of Chemical and Process Engineering  ¦ Engler-Bunte-Institute ¦ Deutsch ¦ Legals ¦ Data Protection ¦ KIT
Gasphase
Equilibrium calculator

Please try out our program for calculating the gas phase equilibrium state.
more...

Contact

Engler-Bunte-Ring 7
76131 Karlsruhe 

Building number 40.13.I 

Tel: +49(0)721 608-42571
Fax: +49(0)721 608-47770

E-Mail: Secretariat

Link to page:
Co-operation partner:
Bachelor- and Masterthesis

Current proposals for topics of bachelor- and master thesis you find on the following page.
more ...

Engine combustion
The partly controversial requirements on engine evolution for better driving performance, adherence to very low emission limits and low fuel consumption as well, call for research into the fundamental relationships of the engine combustion process. Of major importance here are the interactions of chemical reactions with pulse, heat and material transport in the unsteady flow.

An important objective for improving energy use and reducing the potential damage of traffic is therefore to extend knowledge of the fundamentals of engine combustion and thereby facilitate improvements in the combustion processes.

 

Within this research focus the following research projects are associated:


Methane Engines for Passenger Vehicles
(MetCar)
Contemporary Natural Gas (NG) engines for passenger car applications are not consequently optimized for NG operation. But, due to its high knock resistance, NG offers a high efficiency potential versus gasoline already. EE-C-Methane consists mainly of very neat methane. Therefore, it offers an even higher knock resistance (higher Methane Number) than NG. The higher knock resistance can be transformed into higher efficiency by further increasing the compression ratio (CR) and the boost level of the engine.
In order to exploit the potential and to achieve the high efficiencies, while maintaining drivability and component durability, many aspects need to be considered during the development of a dedicated EE-C-Methane engine, which are content of the described project MethCar. Beside the significant rise of the peak combustion pressure capability of the base engine, volumetric efficiency is going to be increased by means of a new methane direct injection system and a turbo charger with variable turbine geometry, as well as a fully variable valvetrain. Furthermore, the impact of the methane composition (EE-C-Methane) is an important factor for the market introduction potential of methane as automotive fuel. Therefore, in MethCar, the impact of the expected main components of EE-Methane (H2, CH4) and trace elements (as sulfur and compressor oil) on component wear and catalyst efficiency is investigated.
The 3rd innovative element of the study is the investigation how to avoid particle emissions robustly, with the focus on small particles.
 

Within this research focus in the past the following research projects were associated:


Formation of soot particles and catalytic filter regeneration using gasoline fuels from biomass
(BIOTTO)

The use of biofuels in direct injection gasoline engines is of increasing importance for the reduction of global CO2 emissions. On the other hand, studies have shown that it can lead to increased soot particle emissions. The current study from the Junior Research group “BiOtto” addresses this issue and has the objective to identify whether, and under which conditions the admixing of biogenic fuel components in direct injection gasoline engines could result in higher soot emissions. In this context, processes of soot formation and oxidation are systematically investigated for fuels that contain surrogates of biogenic fuels (e.g. Ethanol, Butanol) in different concentrations.

The BiOtto Project: “Formation of soot particles and catalytic filter regeneration for application of biomass fuels in direct-injection spark-ignition engines” (Nachwuchsgruppe „BiOtto“, FKZ: 22026711, 22041011, 22040811, 22041111) is funded by the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture, represented by the FNR (Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe). Research partners of the chair of Combustion Technology of the Engler-Bunte-Institute (EBI-vbt) in the framework of BiOtto are the Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics of the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (LTT - project coordinator) and the chairs of Numerical Thermo-Fluid Dynamics (NTFD) and of Reaction Engineering (RT) of the Technical University of Freiberg.

At EBI-vbt, experimental data are generated using laminar model flames for the validation of numerical models for soot growth/ oxidation that are being developed in the framework of the project (NTFD).
 
 
    
Laminar Premixed Model Flames         Laminar Diffusion and Partially Premixed Model Flames
The models are used for detailed engine simulations and comparison with experimental measurements with optical diagnostic methods applied in a partially transparent direct injection engine (LTT). Overall, the numerical and experimental engine process characterization provides feedback for the development of efficient catalysts, suitable for the regeneration of gasoline particle filters (RT).

Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik ¦ Engler-Bunte-Institut ¦ English ¦ Impressum ¦ Datenschutz ¦ KIT
Chemischer
Gleichgewichtsrechner

Probieren Sie auf dieser Seite unser Programm für die Berechnung des thermodynamischen Gleichgewichtes einer Gasmischung
mehr ...

Kontakt

Engler-Bunte-Ring 7
76131 Karlsruhe 

Gebäude 40.13.I 

Tel: +49(0)721 608-42571
Fax: +49(0)721 608-47770

E-Mail: Sekretariat
Link zur Seite:
Kooperationspartner:
Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten

Aktuelle Angebote für das Anfertigen von Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten finden sie auf der folgenden Seite.
mehr ...

Motorische Verbrennung
Die zum Teil kontroversen Forderungen in der Motorenentwicklung nach besseren Fahrleistungen bei niedrigerem Kraftstoffverbrauch unter Einhaltung sehr niedriger Emissionsgrenzwerte erfordert die Erforschung grundlegender Zusammenhänge des motorischen Verbrennungsprozesses. Von großer Bedeutung hierbei sind die Wechselwirkungen von chemischen Reaktionen mit Impuls-, Wärme- und Stofftransport in der instationären Strömung.

Eine wichtige Zielsetzung zur besseren Energienutzung und Reduktion des Schädigungspotentials des Verkehrs ist es daher die Kenntnisse der Grundlagen auf dem Gebiet der motorischen Verbrennung zu erweitern und damit Verbesserungen der Verbrennungsprozesse zu ermöglichen.

 

Im Rahmen dieses Schwerpunkts werden folgende Forschungsprojekte bearbeitet:


Methanmotoren für Personenkraftwagen
(MetCar)
Heutige Erdgasmotoren für PKW basieren auf Benzinmotoren und sind nicht konsequent für die Methanverbrennung optimiert. Mit seiner hohen Klopffestigkeit bietet bereits Erdgas gegenüber Benzin ein signifikantes Effizienzsteigerungspotenzial. Dies kann durch EE-C-Methan mit hohen Methangehalten und einer damit einhergehenden höheren Klopfresistenz (höhere Methanzahl) noch erhöht werden, da wirkungsgradsteigernde hohe Kompressionsverhältnisse bei gleichzeitig sehr hohen Aufladegraden ermöglicht werden.
Um die hohen Wirkungsgrade bei gleichbleibendem Fahr- und Verschleißverhalten zu ermöglichen, sind bei der Entwicklung eines optimierten Motors zahlreiche Teilaspekte wichtig, die umfassend im Projekt bearbeitet werden. Hierzu gehören insbesondere motortechnische Anpassungen der Spitzendruckfähigkeit, die Ladedruckerhöhung zur Vermeidung von Füllungsverlusten mit Hilfe von neuartigen Injektoren zur Gasdirekteinblasung (Methan DI) und Turboladern mit variabler Turbinengeometrie, sowie ein vollvariabler Ventiltrieb. Neben den motortechnischen Entwicklungen ist auch der Einfluss der Gasbeschaffenheit von Methan, insbesondere EE-C-Methan, als Kraftstoff ein wichtiger Baustein für die Markteinführung. Hierzu wird der Einfluss der zu erwartenden Hauptkomponenten (CH4, H2) und von Spurenstoffen (schwefelhaltige Odoriermittel, Kompressorenöle) auf Komponentenverschleiß und Katalysatorwirksamkeit anhand von Teststandsversuchen untersucht.
Der dritte innovative Baustein stellen grundlegende Untersuchungen zur Vermeidung von Partikelemissionen an Methanmotoren dar. Hierbei stehen sehr kleine Partikel im Fokus.
 

Im Rahmen dieses Schwerpunkts wurden in den vergangenen Jahren auch folgende Forschungsprojekte bearbeitet:


Bildung von Rußpartikeln und katalytische Filterregeneration bei der motorischen Nutzung von Ottokraftstoffen aus Biomasse
(BIOTTO)
Zur Reduzierung des CO2-Ausstoßes ist der Einsatz von Biokraftstoffen aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen unverzichtbar. Deren Einsatz kann jedoch zu erhöhten Rußpartikelemissionen führen. Die gegenwärtige Forschung im Rahmen der Nachwuchsgruppe BiOtto untersucht diesen Sachverhalt mit dem Ziel festzustellen ob und unter welchen Bedingungen die Beimischung Biokraftstoffen in direkt einspritzenden Ottomotoren eine erhöhte Emission von Rußpartikeln bewirkt. Daher wird die Rußbildung und Rußoxidation für Kraftstoffe mit variablen biogenen Anteilen detailliert untersucht.

Das BiOtto Projekt "Bildung von Rußpartikeln und katalytische Filterregeneration bei der motorischen Nutzung von Ottokraftstoffen aus Biomasse" (Nachwuchsgruppe „BiOtto“, FKZ: 22026711, 22041011, 22040811, 22041111) wird vom  Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe (FNR), des Bundesministeriums für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL), gefördert. Forschungspartner des Teilinstituts für Verbrennungstechnik am Engler-Bunte-Institut (EBI - vbt) im Rahmen von BiOtto sind der Lehrstuhl für Technische Thermodynamik (LTT - Univ. Erlangen Nürnberg), der Lehrstuhl für Numerische Thermofluiddynamik (NTFD - TU Bergakademie Freiberg) und der Lehrstuhl für Reaktionstechnik (RT - TU Bergakademie Freiberg).

Für eine grundlegende Charakterisierung und zur Modellbildung und Validierung wird am EBI-vbt die Partikelbildung für variierte Biokraftstoffanteile in laminaren Flammen untersucht.

 
    
Laminar Premixed Model Flames         Laminar Diffusion and Partially Premixed Model Flames
Die Modelle werden im Rahmen detailierter numerischer Simulationen (NTFD) der Rußbildung und Oxidation sowie der Verbrennung im Motor, angewandt.  Meßdaten werden mit optischen Methoden in einem teilweise transparenten direkteinspritzenden Ottomotor aufgenommen werden (LTT).

Die Simulationsergebnisse und experimentellen Daten sind wiederum wichtige Randbedingungen für die wissensbasierte Entwicklung eines hocheffizienten Katalysators für die schnelle Oxidation des ottomotorischen Rußes im Partikelfilter. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein integriertes Modul aus Partikelfilter und Drei-Wege-Katalysator (RT). Durch die interdisziplinäre Struktur des Vorhabens wird schließlich das Komplettsystem Motor-Katalysator-Filter für biogene Kraftstoffe optimiert.