Department of Chemical and Process Engineering  ¦ Engler-Bunte-Institute ¦ Deutsch ¦ Impressum ¦ Data Protection ¦ KIT
Equilibrium calculator

Please try out our program for calculating the gas phase equilibrium state.


Engler-Bunte-Ring 7
76131 Karlsruhe 

Building number 40.13.I 

Tel: +49(0)721 608-42571
Fax: +49(0)721 608-47770

E-Mail: Secretariat

MCS 10 - talk

Bockhorn, H.: "Some notes on challenges of combustion in future energy systems".
more ...

Bachelor- and Masterthesis

Current proposals for topics of bachelor- and master thesis you find on the following page.
more ...



Chair of Combustion Technology (EBI vbt)


The Chair of Combustion Technology of the Engler-Bunte-Institute belongs to the Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering. The chair of Combustion Technology is held by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Trimis. In the field of combustion technology different objectives of research are addressed with various diagnostic methods and theoretical aproaches.


On another page some of our scientific facilities and research opportunities are listed.


In addition, the interested reader can find more information on the development or the history of the institute on another page.


We hope that readers, whether researchers, student or layman, can find all relevant data and information on the present site, and will gain an insight into the interesting work of this institute. We are always grateful about suggestions, please send an e-mail.




Thorsten Zirwes receives "Student Paper Award" on the 6. OpenFOAM Conference 2018 in Hamburg

On October, 23rd 2018, Thorsten Zirwes has been awarded for his paper "Optimizing Load Balancing of Reacting Flow Solvers in OpenFOAM for High Performance Computing" with the "Student Paper Award".

more ...



Linus Biffar receives DVGW Study Award 2018

L.t.r: DVGW Vice President Jörg Höhler, Linus Biffar, Florian Denter (DVGW student prize Gas), Lea Tatje (DVGW student prize Gas), Thaddäus Weniger (not pictured, DVGW student prize Gas). Source: <a href=>DVGW</a>/Heckmann
L.t.r: DVGW Vice President Jörg Höhler, Linus Biffar, Florian Denter (DVGW student prize Gas), Lea Tatje (DVGW student prize Gas), Thaddäus Weniger (not pictured, DVGW student prize Gas). Source: DVGW/Heckmann

On October, 23th 2018, the German Gas and Water Association (DVGW) awarded prizes to four outstanding academic works in the field of gas at gat|wat 2018 in Berlin. DVGW Vice President Jörg Höhler honoured the winners.

more ...



EMR contribution (Subtopic "4.2 Gasification") receives Best Paper Award at ASME Turbo Expo 2018

At the "ASME Turbo Expo 2018" (June 11-15, 2019) in Oslo, Norway, the contribution "Influence of Nozzle Design Upon the Primary Jet Breakup of High-Viscous Fuels for Entrained Flow Gasification" (GT2017-63198) presented by Thomas Müller was honored with the "Best Paper Award".

more ...



Thorsten Zirwes receives award at the Joint Meeting of the German and Italian sections of the Combustion Institute

During the Joint Meeting the German and Italian Sections of the Combustion Institute (May 23-26, 2018) in Sorrento (Italy), over 70 researchers presented their most recent work on combustion.

Thorsten Zirwes was awarded with the best oral presentation award by Prof. Fabrizio Scala.

more ...



The sequence of images displays recent results.

previous News

20.2.2018:Henning Bockhorn nominated as «Fellow of the Combustion Institute»... more ...
1.12.2017:Christoph Wieland receives DVGW student prize... more ...
6.09.2017:Thorsten Zirwes receives Golden Spike Award.... more ...
1.11.2017:Terminänderung der Vorlesung "Grundlagen der Verbrennungstechnik"... more ...
30.6.2017:Contribution of Colaborative Research Center 606 rewarded by ASME... more ...
18.3.2017:Most downloaded article ...... more ...
10.08.2016:Henning Bockhorn, Inaugural Recipient of the Jürgen Warnatz Gold Medal... more ...
18.6.2016:Contribution of FP7 Collaborative research project LEMCOTEC rewarded by ASME... more ...