Numerical simulations of turbulent multiphase flows with atomization and sprays

CO2 from the flue gases of a rotary kiln in a cement industry (CO2: 25 vol%) will be used for the production of value-added chemicals (acid additives for cement formulations) and materials (CaCO3 nanoparticles to be used as concrete fillers). In other words, a circular-economy-approach is established in a way that the CO2 produced by cement manufacturing is re-used in a significant part within the plant itself to produce better cement-related products entailing less energy intensity and related CO2 emissions by a quadratic effect.

Ionic liquids (bare or amine-functionalised) will be the key technological playground for the efficient and cost-effective (<30 €/ton) purification of CO2 to a purity grade sufficient for the above mentioned utilisation paths. A dedicated pilot plant (flue gas flow rate: 50 Nm3/h) will be developed, based on the knowledge-based selection of the best ionic-liquids composition and operating conditions.

Within a final TRL 6 integrated system demo campaign, the thereby derived CO2 will be utilised in parallel to:

  • Promote the precipitation of nano-CaCO3 powders which act as strength enhancer and accelerator of the hydration rate.
  • Synthesize through electrocatalytic and catalytic pathways formic acid, oxalic acid and glycine to be used as hardening acceleration promoters, grinding aids or ionic liquids additives, respectively.

Distinctive features of the RECODE approach are the high process intensification and scale-up-ability, the use of low-grade heat sources, the meaningful reduction of CO2 emissions (>20% accounting for direct and indirect means) and the good market potential of their products at a mass production scale.

EBIvbt at KIT will support the project by designing the simultaneous compression-dissolution unit responsible for dissolving the CO2 within an ionic liquid. Experimental investigations will cover a wide range of activities containing the spray characteristics at various pressures, finding the optimum motion profile for the piston (to gain maximum energy efficiency), designing and building of a fully functional test-rig.

On the other hand, EBIvbt at KIT will also model the simultaneous compression-dissolution unit with the help of computational fluid dynamics. The model will combine both Eulerian approach (in particular VOF method) for modelling of multiphase flows, with the Lagrangian approach suited for spray computations. The former is suited for scenarios where the accurate modelling of the liquid flows (motion/deformation of the liquid film) is of interest while the latter is suited for cases where abundant number of liquid droplets are involved. This combination will benefit from reasonable computational time and accuracy of the simulations. The hybrid model will account a single way conversion of Lagrangian particles to VOF, hence capturing the effect of film creation upon impact of the liquid droplets to the walls of the cylindrical container. Dynamic mesh technique will be used to account for the motion of the piston during compression. Dissolution process will be modelled with continuous species transfer (CST) method. The method will solve an extra transport equation (PDE) for concentration of  CO2 within gaseous and liquid phases. Moreover, it will also use Henry’s law to compute the amount of dissolved gas at the interfacial region.

Publikationsliste


Hybrid eulerian-lagrangian approach for dense spray simulations.
Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Zhang, F.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.
2021. Graph Drawing and Network Visualization: 29th International Symposium, GD 2021, Tübingen, Germany, September 14–17, 2021, Revised Selected Papers. Ed.: H. C. Purchase, 1–12, Scipedia S.L. doi:10.23967/wccm-eccomas.2020.172
Experimental and numerical investigations of a high-power density sulphur burner.
Fedoryk, M.; Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Sebbar, N.; Harth, S.; Trimis, D.
2020. 12th European Conference on Industrial Furnaces and Boilers (INFUB-12) : 10th and 11th November 2020
Numerical evaluation of a novel double-concentric swirl burner for sulfur combustion.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Harth, S.; Zirwes, T.; Wang, R.; Fedoryk, M.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2020. Renewable & sustainable energy reviews, 133, Art. Nr.: 110257. doi:10.1016/j.rser.2020.110257
Numerical Investigation of a Sulfur Combustor.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Harth, S.; Zirwes, T.; Fedoryk, M.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2019. 29. Deutscher Flammentag (2019), Bochum, Germany, September 17–18, 2019
Numerical simulation of sulfur combustors with high-power-density [in press].
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Fedoryk, M.; Harth, S.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2019. 9th European Combustion Meeting (ECM), Lissabon, Portugal, 14 - 17 April 2019
Numerical simulation of sulfur combustors with high-power-density.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Fedoryk, M.; Harth, S.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2019. 9th European Combustion Meeting (ECM 2019), Lisbon, Portugal, April 14–17, 2019
Entwicklung von Schwefelbrennern mit hohen Leistungsdichten.
Fedoryk, M.; Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Sebbar, N.; Harth, S.; Trimis, D.
2019. Jahrestreffen der ProcessNet-Fachgruppe "Hochtemperaturtechnik" (2019), Karlsruhe, Germany, April 2–3, 2019
Numerische Untersuchung eines Schwefelverbrennungssystem.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Harth, S.; Zirwes, T.; Sebbar, N.; Fedoryk, M.; Trimis, D.
2019. 29. Deutscher Flammentag (2019), Bochum, Germany, September 17–18, 2019
Sulfur combustion as closing step in a sulfur based solar-thermal cycle.
Sebbar, N.; Harth, S.; Fedoryk, M.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zhang, F.; Bozzelli, J. W.; Bockhorn, H.; Trimis, D.
2019. 1st Conference on smart energy carriers (2019), Napoli, Italy, January 21–23, 2019

Numerische Simulationen von turbulenten Mehrphasenströmungen mit Zerstäubung und Sprays

CO2 aus den Rauchgasen eines Drehrohrofens in der Zementindustrie (CO2: 25 Vol.-%) wird für die Herstellung von Chemikalien mit hohem Mehrwert (Säurezusätze für Zementrezepturen) und Materialien (CaCO3-Nanopartikel zur Verwendung als Betonfüllstoffe) verwendet. Mit anderen Worten, es wird ein Kreislaufwirtschaftskonzept eingeführt, bei dem das bei der Zementherstellung anfallende CO2 zu einem erheblichen Teil in der Anlage selbst wiederverwendet wird, um bessere zementbezogene Produkte herzustellen, was zu einer Verringerung der Energieintensität und der damit verbundenen CO2-Emissionen durch einen quadratischen Effekt führt.

Ionische Flüssigkeiten (mit oder ohne Aminfunktionalität) werden die wichtigste technologische Spielwiese für die effiziente und kostengünstige (<30 €/Tonne) Reinigung von CO2 auf einen Reinheitsgrad sein, der für die oben genannten Verwendungszwecke ausreicht. Es wird eine spezielle Pilotanlage (Rauchgasdurchsatz: 50 Nm3/h) entwickelt, die auf der wissensbasierten Auswahl der besten Zusammensetzung der ionischen Flüssigkeiten und der Betriebsbedingungen beruht.

Im Rahmen einer abschließenden TRL 6-Demokampagne für ein integriertes System wird das so gewonnene CO2 parallel genutzt, um:

  • Förderung der Ausfällung von Nano-CaCO3-Pulvern, die als Festigkeitsverstärker und Beschleuniger der Hydratationsrate wirken.
  • Synthese von Ameisensäure, Oxalsäure und Glycin auf elektrokatalytischem und katalytischem Weg, die als Beschleuniger der Aushärtung, als Schleifhilfsmittel bzw. als Zusatz zu ionischen Flüssigkeiten verwendet werden können.

Der RECODE-Ansatz zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Prozessintensivierung und Scale-up-Fähigkeit, die Nutzung minderwertiger Wärmequellen, eine erhebliche Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen (>20 % unter Berücksichtigung der direkten und indirekten Mittel) und das gute Marktpotenzial ihrer Produkte im Massenproduktionsmaßstab aus.

Das EBIvbt am KIT wird das Projekt unterstützen, indem es die simultane Kompressions-Auflösungseinheit entwickelt, die für die Auflösung des CO2in einer ionischen Flüssigkeit. Die experimentellen Untersuchungen werden ein breites Spektrum an Aktivitäten umfassen, darunter die Sprühcharakteristik bei verschiedenen Drücken, die Ermittlung des optimalen Bewegungsprofils für den Kolben (um eine maximale Energieeffizienz zu erreichen) sowie die Konstruktion und den Bau eines voll funktionsfähigen Prüfstands.

Andererseits wird das EBIvbt am KIT auch die simultane Kompressions-Auflösungseinheit mit Hilfe der numerischen Strömungsmechanik modellieren. Das Modell wird sowohl den Eulerschen Ansatz (insbesondere die VOF-Methode) für die Modellierung von Mehrphasenströmungen als auch den Lagrangeschen Ansatz für die Berechnung von Sprays kombinieren. Ersterer eignet sich für Szenarien, in denen die genaue Modellierung der Flüssigkeitsströme (Bewegung/Verformung des Flüssigkeitsfilms) von Interesse ist, während letzterer für Fälle geeignet ist, in denen eine große Anzahl von Flüssigkeitströpfchen beteiligt ist. Diese Kombination wird von einer angemessenen Rechenzeit und Genauigkeit der Simulationen profitieren. Das hybride Modell berücksichtigt eine einseitige Umwandlung von Lagrangeschen Teilchen in VOF, wodurch der Effekt der Filmbildung beim Aufprall der Flüssigkeitströpfchen auf die Wände des zylindrischen Behälters erfasst wird. Die Bewegung des Kolbens während der Kompression wird durch eine dynamische Netztechnik berücksichtigt. Der Auflösungsprozess wird mit der Methode des kontinuierlichen Speziestransfers (CST) modelliert. Die Methode löst eine zusätzliche Transportgleichung (PDE) für die Konzentration von CO2in der gasförmigen und flüssigen Phase. Darüber hinaus wird sie das Henry'sche Gesetz zur Berechnung der Menge des gelösten Gases an der Grenzfläche verwenden.

Publikationsliste


Experimental and numerical investigations of a high-power density sulphur burner.
Fedoryk, M.; Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Sebbar, N.; Harth, S.; Trimis, D.
2020. 12th European Conference on Industrial Furnaces and Boilers (INFUB-12) : 10th and 11th November 2020
Numerical evaluation of a novel double-concentric swirl burner for sulfur combustion.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Harth, S.; Zirwes, T.; Wang, R.; Fedoryk, M.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2020. Renewable & sustainable energy reviews, 133, Art. Nr.: 110257. doi:10.1016/j.rser.2020.110257
Numerical Investigation of a Sulfur Combustor.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Harth, S.; Zirwes, T.; Fedoryk, M.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2019. 29. Deutscher Flammentag (2019), Bochum, Deutschland, 17.–18. September 2019
Numerical simulation of sulfur combustors with high-power-density [in press].
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Fedoryk, M.; Harth, S.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2019. 9th European Combustion Meeting (ECM), Lissabon, Portugal, 14 - 17 April 2019
Numerical simulation of sulfur combustors with high-power-density.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Fedoryk, M.; Harth, S.; Sebbar, N.; Habisreuther, P.; Trimis, D.; Bockhorn, H.
2019. 9th European Combustion Meeting (ECM 2019), Lissabon, Portugal, 14.–17. April 2019
Entwicklung von Schwefelbrennern mit hohen Leistungsdichten.
Fedoryk, M.; Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zirwes, T.; Sebbar, N.; Harth, S.; Trimis, D.
2019. Jahrestreffen der ProcessNet-Fachgruppe "Hochtemperaturtechnik" (2019), Karlsruhe, Deutschland, 2.–3. April 2019
Numerische Untersuchung eines Schwefelverbrennungssystem.
Zhang, F.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Harth, S.; Zirwes, T.; Sebbar, N.; Fedoryk, M.; Trimis, D.
2019. 29. Deutscher Flammentag (2019), Bochum, Deutschland, 17.–18. September 2019
Sulfur combustion as closing step in a sulfur based solar-thermal cycle.
Sebbar, N.; Harth, S.; Fedoryk, M.; Heidarifatasmi, H.; Zhang, F.; Bozzelli, J. W.; Bockhorn, H.; Trimis, D.
2019. 1st Conference on smart energy carriers (2019), Napoli, Italien, 21.–23. Januar 2019