Thermo-Fluid Systems

Research objectives

The research of the Chair for Simulation of Reacting Thermo-Fluid Systems deals with the numerical modelling of reacting and mostly turbulent flows from gaseous, liquid and solid energy carriers. The chair is held by Prof. Dr. Oliver T. Stein. The major aims of our research are to (i) increase our fundamental understanding of complex reacting multiphase flows, to (ii) develop predictive simulation tools for such systems and to thereby (iii) contribute to the global transition towards a sustainable energy economy. We closely collaborate with our experimental colleagues both from Engler-Bunte-Institut and external project partners. We achieve our research goals by applying and developing a set of modelling and analysis tools as listed below.

Scientific research topics

  • Direct numerical simulation (DNS) of turbulent reacting flows: DNS resolves all scales of turbulent flows, which results in highly accurate predictions of flows with low to intermediate turbulence levels for fundamental analyses.

  • Large eddy simulation (LES) of turbulent flows with chemical reactions: LES resolves the large scales of turbulence, while modelling the small-scale processes, leading to accurate predictions of intermediate to highly turbulent flows in research and applications.

  • Development of advanced LES models for reacting multiphase flows (liquid droplets and solid particles): The LES of multiphase flows usually requires the modelling of phase transitions to allow for reliable simulations.

  • Sparse-Lagrangian Multiple-Mapping Conditioning (MMC) modelling for LES: MMC is a complex but highly efficient closure model for the LES of single and multiphase flow systems.

  • LES techniques for population balance equation (PBE) modelling of particulate systems: Interaction processes like e.g. nucleation, condensation, coagulation, agglomeration and others within particle or droplet ensembles require advanced LES closure models.

  • Machine learning approaches for turbulent reacting flows: Modern machine and deep learning techniques allow for the efficient modelling of complex systems, pattern recognition and feature analysis.

 

Research projects

 

 

 

SPP 2419 HyCAM (SIM)

The DFG priority programme PP 2419 HyCAM (Hydrogen-based fuel combustion using additive manufacturing) is concerned with the optimisation of thermochemical energy conversion processes for the flexible use of hydrogen-based renewable fuels using additive manufacturing processes. The joint subproject of KIT and TU Freiberg investigates non-premixed ammonia combustion in tailored porous inert media.

 

Main projekt:

https://spp2419.itv.rwth-aachen.de/ 

 

Project funding organization:

https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/500932573?language=en

https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/523876164?language=en

Clean Circles

Iron as energy carrier in a carbon neutral circular energy economy
https://www.tu-darmstadt.de/clean-circles/about_cc/index.en.jsp

 

Sparse-Lagrangian particle methods for solid fuel combustion
https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/450158108?language=en

 

Deep learning methods for improved numerical simulation of pulverised biomass combustion
https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/513858356?language=en

 

Materials and Technologies for the Energy Transition (MTET), Topic: Resource and Energy Efficiency, Subtopic: Anthropogenic Carbon Cycle
https://https://www.mtet.kit.edu/89.php


 

Further research activities

Co-organisation der internationalen Workshop-Reihe Clean Solids Conversion (CSC)

https://csc.ebi.kit.edu/index.php

Thermo-Fluid Systeme

Forschungsziele

Die Forschung der Professur Simulation reaktiver Thermo-Fluid Systeme beschäftigt sich mit der numerischen Modellierung reagierender und zumeist turbulenter Strömungen aus gasförmigen, flüssigen und festen Energieträgern. Der Inhaber der Professur ist Prof. Dr. Oliver T. Stein. Die wesentlichen Ziele unserer Forschung sind (i) die Verbesserung unseres grundlegenden Verständnisses von komplexen reagierenden Mehrphasenströmungen, (ii) die Entwicklung prädiktiver Simulationsmodelle für derartige Systeme und damit (iii) ein Beitrag zum weltweiten Übergang hin zu einer nachhaltigen Energiewirtschaft. Wir forschen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren experimentellen Kollegen am Engler-Bunte-Institut und externen Projektpartnern. Wir erreichen unsere Forschungsziele durch die Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung von einer Reihe an Modellierungs- und Analysewerkzeugen, wie im Folgenden dargestellt.

Forschungsthemen

  • Direkte Numerische Simulation (DNS) turbulenter reaktiver Strömungen: DNS löst alle Skalen der turbulenten Strömung auf, wodurch hochgenaue Vorhersagen von Strömungen mit niedrigen bis mittleren Turbulenzgraden für grundlegende Untersuchungen ermöglicht werden.

  • Grobstruktursimulation (Large Eddy Simulation, LES) turbulenter Strömungen mit chemischer Reaktion: LES löst die größten turbulenten Skalen auf, während kleinskalige Prozesse modelliert werden, so dass genaue Vorhersagen von Strömungen mit mittleren bis hohen Turbulenzgraden in der Forschung und Anwendung erzielt werden können.

  • Entwicklung fortgeschrittener LES-Modelle für reagierende Mehrphasenströmungen (flüssige Tröpfchen und feste Partikel): In der LES von Mehrphasenströmungen müssen die Phasenübergänge i.d.R. modelliert werden, um verlässliche Simulationen zu ermöglichen.

  • LES-Modellierung mittels der dünnbesetzten Lagrange’schen Multiple-Mapping Conditioning (MMC) Methode: MMC ist ein komplexes aber gleichzeitig hocheffizientes Schließungsmodell für die LES von ein- und mehrphasigen Strömungssystemen.

  • LES-Ansätze für die Modellierung von Partikelsystemen mittels der Populationsbilanzgleichung (Population Balance Equation, PBE): Interaktionsprozesse wie z.B. Nukleation, Kondensation, Koagulation, Agglomeration u.a. in Partikel- und Tropfenensembles benötigen fortgeschrittene LES-Schließungsmodelle.

  • Machine Learning Ansätze für turbulente reagierende Strömungen: Moderne Machine und Deep Learning Ansätze ermöglichen die effiziente Modellierung komplexer Systeme, Mustererkennung und Featureanalyse.

 

Forschungsprojekte

 

 

 

SPP 2419 HyCAM (SIM)

Das DFG-Schwerpunktprogramm SPP 2419 HyCAM (Hydrogen-based fuel combustion using additive manufacturing) befasst sich mit der Optimierung thermochemischer Energiewandlungsprozesse zur flexiblen Nutzung wasserstoffbasierter erneuerbarer Brennstoffe durch additive Fertigungsverfahren. Das gemeinsame Teilprojekt des KIT und der TU Freiberg untersucht die nicht vorgemischte Verbrennung von Ammoniak in maßgeschneiderten porösen inerten Medien.

 

Hauptprojekt:

https://spp2419.itv.rwth-aachen.de/ 

 

Projektträger:

https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/500932573

https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/523876164

Clean Circles

Eisen als Energieträger einer klimaneutralen Kreislaufwirtschaft
https://www.tu-darmstadt.de/clean-circles/about_cc/index.de.jsp

 

Dünnbesetzte Partikel-Methoden für die Feststoffverbrennung
https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/450158108?language=de

 

Deep Learning für die verbesserte Simulation der Biomassestaubverbrennung
https:https://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/513858356?language=de

 

Materials and Technologies for the Energy Transition (MTET), Topic: Resource and Energy Efficiency, Subtopic: Anthropogenic Carbon Cycle
https://https://www.mtet.kit.edu/89.php


 

Weitere Forschungsaktivitäten

Co-organisation der internationalen Workshop-Reihe Clean Solids Conversion (CSC)

https://csc.ebi.kit.edu/index.php